Kaleidoscope Birding

There are days when one knows that good birding is in the offing. The past two days has been exactly that for me.

I had spent quite some time in Nairobi on my Msc programme. Well, last week I completed coursework and needed to embark on my research. Hence, I travelled home (Eldoret) to collect data but also catch up with the old folks. I also yearned to carry out some survey of sorts of the bird species around home.
It was a nice experience. On both days, I rose early, gobbled three slices of bread, drowned them with a cuppa tea and then went out to meet my winged-kindred. On both days, the sun was just showing its face and one could hear the speckled mouse birds chirping here and there.

100E2785
Some Robin-chats could also be seen darting here and there and warbling their tails in their characteristic manner. A common bulbul was heard singing sweetly up from the roof.

100E2790
A bronze sunbird flew from flower to flower sucking nectar, all the while singing, in an almost staccato flute like manner. A pair of Rufous sparrows perched nearby on the trees in the garden.

100E2859100_2657
The African paradise monarch adorned in its beautiful orange feathers, tail streamer and raised crown was sight to behold. The blue-breasted bee-eater was also in its element. Preening on a tree, it was in no hurry go about its business giving me a good chance to savour its Rufous wings, white cheeks and purple gorget.
Along a nearby river, Sosiani, the black headed weaver noisily went about its business without a care in the world, except completing its nest. A solitary Hadada fished for insects in the open grassland nearby.

100E2764100_2832
A common fiscal perched on a defunct telephone line wagging its tail. Perhaps what was the icing on the cake was the sighting of what I thought was a great goshawk. However, on noting its features more closely I could not help think it was a brown snake-eagle. I am still trying to figure out which species it is. Perhaps, other more experienced bird-watchers can help me out on this one.

100E2783100_2838
All in all, these past two days have reminded me that birding still has its reins on my heart; turning my head willingly to look up to the lovely birds and once in a while look down too though not in a condescending manner but with awe.

Leave a Reply

