Very Many Thanks Tamron!

Wet-Olive-Thrush-for-web
An Olive Thrush after a bath

When I began photographing birds, there is a piece of advice given by that great blue heron lover, babsje, which has stayed with me. Walk softly, carry a long lens.

I have perfected the art of walking softly in order to get closer to my subjects. This was partly contributed by the fact that I was using a Nikon 70-200mm hence I didn’t have much reach. Moreover, it did not have a non-vibration reduction function. Hence, I also needed to perfect the art of minimising camera shake for that sharp crisp photo. I have to admit, I have not yet mastered this skill as I have walking softly.

Well, the reason I am sharing this seemingly irrelevant information is that I have acquired a Tamron 150-600 mm lens. And boy is it exciting to use! A random chat on Nairobi Photography Club with another photographer landed me this baby. It is rather heavy so am learning to use a monopod as opposed to hand-held which has been my preferred technique.

All in all, am excited to share with you some of the photos from my first use of the Tamron lens that allow me to observe the birds’ behaviour from a reasonable distance without interrupting. I believe this is the best way to photograph birds or wildlife for that matter. They are at ease and give you their best side.  Of course, they are all taken in my happy valley right here in Upper Kabete, Nairobi.

Bronze-Sunbird-bending-it-like-Beckham
A male bronze Sunbird in breeding plumage bends it like Beckham
Common-Waxbill
A common waxbill with that red mask over its eyes reminding one of The Last of the Mohicans
Firefinch
A red-billed firefinch looking all cute and cuddly
Hadada-Ibis
The common Hadada Ibis looking uncommonly beautiful
Kingfishers
Malachite Kingfishers in their mature (red bill) and Immature (Immature) form
Pidgeon
A head Shot of a  camouflaged dove (Collared maybe?)
red-collared-widowbird-screaming-its-head-off
A screaming red-collared widowbird
Spreening-Wet-Olive-Thrush
An Olive Thrush Spreening after a bath

 

 

2 thoughts on “Very Many Thanks Tamron!

Leave a Reply

