Top 20 Favourite Photos of 2016

It has been a good year in photography. I managed to comb through a valley in the University of Nairobi Farm at Upper Kabete that I fondly refer to as ‘My Happy Valley’. This particular place has offered me much rest and every now and then, surprised me with a new bird species. There are some such as the emerald cuckoo or crowned eagle that I have seen but have not quite managed to capture in camera. Perhaps that is the challenge for the New Year.

Then there was Nairobi National Park, Hyena Dam to be precise. There is something about that water hole that just brings together the best of NNP. It is sad that such may be no more when that lunatic express cuts its way through the park, sad indeed.

All in all, I have tried to capture intimate picture of feathered friends and other wildlife. I now present you my favourite pictures of 2016. Enjoy.

Down and Out

16-x-24-portrait-augur-buzzard-and-its-kill-to-print

WOW! (Walking On Water!)

african-black-duck-walking-on-water

The Eyes Have It (sacred ibis)

sacred-ibis-to-print

Angry Bird

16-x-24-landscape-bee-eater-to-print

I am King, King Fisher

16-x-24-landscape-malachite-kingfisher-portrait-to-print

Who goes there?

16-x-24-landscape-variable-sunbird-portrait-to-print

I see you

16-x-24-landscapeafrican-fish-eagle-nnp-to-print

Stardom

african-pied-wagtail-low-key-image-to-print

I ain’t smok notin!

black-lapwing-headshot

Gotta reach in for that nectar…in… there got it!

bronze-sunbird-reaching-for-that-sweet-nectar-to-print

Now you know why they call me bronzie

bronze-makinin-portrait-on-barbed-wire

Daddy long legs

common-stilt-elongated-illusion-nnp-to-print

‘Go ahead you can do it.’ so this Mother Zebra seems to tell its little one

evans_kosgei_wildlife_young-zebra-nnp

‘Go on! Get out of here!’ so seems to say this pied babbler

pied-babbler-to-print

Stand Tall!

girrafe-blended-well-with-grass_nnp-to-print

Beauty understated

golden-breasted-bunting

Grey crowned crane lovers

 

grey-crowned-crane-lovers-nnp

Mirror mirror…who is the fairest of them all?

mountain-wagtail-mirror-to-print

I know. I am that cute.

three-banded-plover-nnp

 

Lit!

common-bulbul2-to-print

 

I also took the liberty of trying my hand on digital fine art. Consequently, here are a few honourable mentions

Trilling Cisticola Monochrome

trilling-cisticola-monochrome-to-print

Bronze male Sunbird and its female sharing some happiness

bronze-male-sunbird-and-its-female-sharing-some-happines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

